Although John Frusciante is best known as a guitarist with the rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers, he also has an active solo career, having released 11 albums under his own name. His solo recordings include elements ranging from experimental rock and ambient music to New Wave and Electronica.

Inside of Emptiness is Frusciante’s sixth studio album, originally released in 2004 on Record Collection, and is the fourth in a series of six releases issued from June 2004 to February 2005. The album includes contributions from future RHCP guitarist Josh Klinghoffer and the Mars Volta’s Omar Rodríguez-López.