Electric Sewer Age

Electric Sewer Age “Contemplating Nothingness” (Hallow Ground)

2020-03-20T19:36:13+00:00March 19th, 2020|

Electric Sewer Age’s »Contemplating Nothingness« is a lysergic tapestry culled from the deep end of the collective pop cultural unconscious. The project was originally started anonymously by the late Peter »Sleazy« Christopherson (of Throbbing Gristle, Psychic TV and, most notably, Coil) together with Coil affiliate and seasoned remixer Danny Hyde, who continued the project together with John Deek, who passed away in 2013. »Contemplating Nothingness« is the third release by Electric Sewer Age and the second one that Hyde finished alone. Having previously been only available on CD, it is now re-released by the Swiss Hallow Ground imprint on vinyl both as a standalone release and as a strictly limited bundle together with »Svay Pak,« Hyde’s 2011 EP under his Aural Rage moniker.

Hyde left his imprint on many of Coil’s seminal albums such as »Love’s Secret Domain«, co-produced Pop Will Eat Itself’s »Very Metal Noise Pollution« and remixed a diverse roster of artists such as Nine Inch Nails, Scorn, Chris & Cosey, Psychick Warriors Ov Gaia or Depeche Mode. With his work as Electric Sewer Age, he explores the vast open space between the dark psychedelic aesthetics that he has helped establishing together with John Balance and his long-time collaborate Christopherson with a postmodernist approach that is deeply rooted in studio practice and sampling.

On »Contemplating Nothingness,« disembodied voices mingle with subdued rhythms, muffled harmonies or menacing string themes. Over just a little bit more than half an hour, Hyde conjures up traditional and contemporary production techniques and genres like plunderphonics, Leyland Kirby’s V/VM project or early vaporwave, all while retaining his singular voice. Throbbing industrial gives way to jazz-inflected quasi-rap, autotune balladry and ethno ambient, before closing on eerily alienated synth pop sounds and a stunning exercise in psychedelic minimalism. »Contemplating Nothingness« is an album as surreal and beautiful as a half-remembered dream, constantly navigating through the liminal zone of the familiar and the great unknown.

Record Label: 

Electric Sewer Age “Moon’s Milk In Final Phase” (Soleilmoon)

2020-03-07T07:30:44+00:00May 20th, 2017|

ELECTRIC SEWER AGE was conceived in 2006, a glowing spark in the imagination of JOHN DEEK of Divine Frequency. A brief, cryptic announcement in 2009, followed by a few rough tracks released online, heralded its birth. Announced with nothing more than the tagline “an Infinity of Sewers thrown open beneath the Threshold House”, little was known about this upcoming project other than it likely featured some involvement of former COIL legends PETER “SLEAZY” CHRISTOPHERSON and DANNY HYDE, and perhaps, it was rumored, with the posthumous contributions of JHONN BALANCE. Because Electric Sewer Age was intended to be an anonymous aural experiment meant to free the listeners mind of any preconceptions about who or what created it, little more was ever planned to be publicly revealed about the project, even after the first release. However, following the unexpected and untimely passing in 2010 of Christopherson, the first Electric Sewer Age EP became an epitaph to the loss of this peerless musician, for these were the last tracks he and his decades long collaborator and friend Danny Hyde ever completed together. The music, originally intended to conclude Coil’s Moon’s Milk series, was released on CD by Divine Frequency in 2012, and then on vinyl the next year by Danny Hyde. Both editions sold out quckly and have been unavailable until now. Moon’s Milk In Final Phase consists of four ambient-electronic instrumentals, reissued by Soleilmoon Recordings on CD and deluxe gatefold 12-inch, the latter in two colors—250 copies on moon green and 250 on celestial black vinyl. A download code is included with each LP.

Record Label: 
Staff Picks: